book.jpg

Otherwise Engaged

OTHERWISE ENGAGED is available for pre-order! Reserve your copy at IndieBound, Greenlight Bookstore, Amazon, or Barnes & Noble. The novel will be released on February 26, 2019—stay tuned for events and reviews!

ADVANCE PRAISE:

“Palmer sustains a heady level of emotional tension throughout her novel of love and ex-lovers… Love, jealousy, and friendship are explored in well-crafted prose… This novel is fun and consistently satisfying.”—Publishers Weekly (full review here)

“This is the smartest romantic comedy I’ve read—and it’s compulsively readable. Molly is my new favorite heroine and I rooted for her with every page as she searched for the right life (and partner). Plus I’ve got major crushes on both the men vying for her affection. And there’s a novel within the novel that had me laughing out loud! Whip-smart social commentary, page-turning pacing, and characters who feel like friends, Otherwise Engaged is the book you’ll beg your friends to read. Like I’m doing right now.” —Julia Fierro, author of The Gypsy Moth Summer and Cutting Teeth

“In her fun, zippy new novel, Palmer riffs on fact versus fiction, the strange allure of certain exes, and—compassionately and humorously—the mixed feelings a young woman today may have about marriage.” —Ada Calhoun, author of Wedding Toasts I'll Never Give

“A winning novel about the powerful sway of an ex, reminding us, as Faulkner wrote, ‘The past is never dead. It’s not even past.’ Poignant and funny, with an endearing heroine who thinks of herself as steady and predictable but who is really a mash of churning emotions about almost everyone and everything in her life. Pride and Prejudice makes a brief appearance but the truer source is Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. Palmer’s Molly Stone is a 21st century Marianne.” —Susan Rieger, author of The Heirs and The Divorce Papers   

Life is sweet for New Yorkers Molly and Gabe: They're young, in love, and newly engaged.

But when Gabe sells his first nove—a thinly-veiled retelling of his wild love affair with ex-girlfriend Talia—and it becomes a national sensation, Molly can't help but feel like the third wheel. To make matters worse, Talia reappears in Gabe's life, eager to capitalize on the book's success and to rekindle what she had with Gabe... at least, that's how it seems to Molly. But even more concerning? Gabe doesn't seem concerned at all. Instead, he's delighting in his newfound fame and success.

Jealous, paranoid, and increasingly desperate, Molly starts to spin out of control. Her social life, work life, and love life all go to pieces. As fact and fiction, and past and present, begin to blur, Molly realizes the only way out of this downward spiral is to fight her way back up. But what—if anything—will be left of her life and her relationship when she arrives?

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jennifer Weiner, OTHERWISE ENGAGED explores the life we seek when the life we have... suddenly goes down the drain.

If you’ve read the book, I’d greatly appreciate if you let me know what you thought in a review on Amazon or Goodreads. Thank you for your support!

OtherwiseEngaged.jpg